Hear Me Raw!

Deciding my recovery from fracture could possibly begin from within, I opted to get some nutritional advice – well, any research that involves eating is fine by me!

The staff at Rawr practice what they preach!
The staff at RAWR practice what they preach!

“Let Food Be Thy Medicine” is the slogan prominently adorning a wall at RAWR Juice & Superfood Bar in Newcastle-under-Lyme.

The enterprise was dreamed up by Gemma Bloor, 36, a cancer survivor with a background in marketing.

So could what I put into my body go towards fixing my broken metatarsal?

Gemma Bloor
Gemma’s research pointed her to a raw vegan diet

“I think you’d be hard-pushed to have a juice that would fix a bone, if I’m being honest, there’s no point in me saying ‘have this juice and your bone’s going to mend'”, said Gemma “But giving yourself some mental clarity is a good way of starting your recovery process. And I think food is an easy way of doing that.”

So, Gemma, what food should I eat?

“Personally I would have a lot of greens, I would have a lot of beetroot, I would have a lot of things that are going to be repairing. Wheatgrass is good to repair, whether you have it in its rawest form, which we do juices for that, or a powder, it actually increases your white and red blood cells, so it is repairing on that level. But I honestly do believe that anything that you do with your diet at this point is going to assist you.”

Lots of greens could boost my recovery
Lots of greens could boost my recovery

Gemma herself has recovered from something a lot more serious than fracture.

Last year she contracted thyroid cancer, which spread to her bloodstream, and needed surgery to remove the gland, as well as radioactive iodine treatment.

“You can’t say that my recovery was just down to food – it could’ve been the treatment I had combined with the food and I’ll never know and nobody will know, because there’s no way of measuring it,” she emphasises.

This is how you juice!
This is how you juice!

Gemma was forced to do more investigating when she didn’t get the answers she needed.

“It was when I had to take my thyroid supplement, and I knew that food can react to that and make it not work properly – just from my own research.

“I knew that (a lot of people who take) Thyroxine had spent years trying to get the levels right and during that period you’re either wired, really thin and your hair’s falling out – or you can’t get out bed. And I didn’t want to have either of those.”

Her research led her to conclude a raw vegan diet was the answer. She’d been a vegetarian for 12 years when she was younger (“but I was quite a big meat-eater between then and now!”).

Read more about RAWR and the thinking behind clean eating and juicing at http://www.bemorerawr.co.uk/

One thought on “Hear Me Raw!

Leave a Reply

