Pro Tip: How to Keep Fit Without Walking

And here’s a fifth metatarsal fracture survivor – I am not alone! Read how she examines the alternatives to weight-bearing exercise.

Single-tracked Mind

It’s been 5 weeks since I broke my 5th metatarsal. As I’ve mentioned in recent posts, I’m extremely limited at the moment: I can’t walk or drive, and it’s been very challenging to say the least; ultra-marathoner to crutcher is not a transition I ever wished for. When I got hurt, I had two choices: I could wallow in despair, lamenting the loss of my fitness and goals for the season, or I could do everything in my power to preserve the base I’ve worked so hard to build, hoping for a swift recovery. I chose the latter.

My business casual look My business casual look

Although my mobility is limited, I’ve found creative ways to stay fit without walking. Judging by the mirror and the way my clothes fit (I can’t stand on the scale) I would wager that I’m plus or minus 2 pounds from what I weighed the day I got hurt. Here’s what’s kept…

View original post 466 more words

Leave a Reply

