Confessions of a Penguin

Right now the only running I’m doing is over the road in busy traffic or into doctors’ consulting rooms.

After my second Robin Hood Half in 2010 - guess who's got the copyright LOL
After my second Robin Hood Half in 2010

Getting my running gear on and just taking off, however slowly, is one form of me-time – and I feel so much more sane once I’ve done it.

Plus it’s a lot cheaper than alternatives where the weight isn’t put on the foot (e.g. swimming, spinning, one-to-one instruction).

It’s a coping strategy and not being able to do it is pretty annoying!

This blog is, arguably, brought to life by other people’s experiences – whether they’re reblogs or interviews.

But a recent I’ve-just-looked-at-my-diary-for-tomorrow-and-it’s-manic text in response to an interview request has prompted some me-time.

So that’s why this post about me – and my running.

After "bootcamp" - I'm the one in the Adidas top messing around with the water bottles!
After “bootcamp” – I’m the one in the Adidas top messing around with the water bottles!

Yes I’m slow. I’ve done the Robin Hood Half Marathon in Nottingham twice – my personal best is about two hours 42 minutes.

I had to remind the tired cheerleaders to keep shaking their pom-poms in Wollaton Park!

Suffice it to say I’m just glad that there’s a finishing gantry still there for me to run through.

And even though my rucksack’s one of the few still waiting to be claimed, at least volunteer support staff are there.

Slow runners are here to stay!
Slow runners are here to stay!

Luckily I’ve never come last – but I know someone who has – apparently you get the biggest cheer!

US writer John Bingham championed the cause of slow runners like me in “The Penguin Chronicles” in Runner’s World and in (one of his many) book(s) “No Need For Speed”.

The latter could be my motto – though I vastly prefer the saying he’s famous for:

“The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”Penguin editor

do have that courage. I also have doctors’ orders not to run for another month. Hey-ho.

Here’s to all those Penguins out there – I will be joining you again soon!

Take a look at John “The Penguin” Bingham’s website here: http://www.johnbingham.com/index.php

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a Penguin

Leave a Reply

