A Runner Reborn?

I’m officially allowed to exercise.

I'm heading for a new horizon
Heading for new horizons…

I apologise for my recent absence from blogging – work commitments prevented me, and – as a relatively new blogger – I’ve yet to develop the confidence to make it part of my daily routine, like brushing my teeth LOL.

So now I rise, Phoenix-like, from the “ashes” of the past three months which have passed since I broke my metatarsal.

Ouch! But the original fracture is a memory now
Ouch! But the original fracture is a memory

The swelling, throbbing, pain and limping are now memories.

Without access to a gravity-defying treadmill, and without a sufficient budget to get me into the gym or one-to-one sessions with my Guerrillas instructor Andy, I have become flabbier.

But then, this can all be eradicated! And, like most Geminis, I get very excited at the start of a new project.

Yep - it's incentives time!
Yup – it’s incentives time!

I can not begin to describe how relieved I am in the knowledge I can run again.

But do I approach it in a “couch-to-5k” way? After all, unlike blogging, I’m not a total beginner when it comes to running!

And now I’ll be looking to eat more healthily too, after all I have an incentive.

Hoping to return to my half-marathon form!
Hoping to return to my half-marathon form!

Meanwhile – I’m teetering on the brink – after all, something that’s been a part of my routine has been missing for the last few months or so.

I almost wish there was a metaphorical hand behind me to give that all-important push.

So wish me luck as I take the plunge!

2 thoughts on “A Runner Reborn?

  1. Best of luck coming back from your injury! I had a stress fracture in the metatarsals of my left foot & had to go through the SAME THING. Don’t worry about being “flabby” or getting into a routine of blogging right away, keep working hard & I know you’ll be back in no time!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your reply! That’s very kind of you – although I wouldn’t wish this injury on other runners, it’s still reassuring there are those who’ve gone through the same thing, as it can be very isolating!

      Like

Leave a Reply

