Getting It Done

It really is this simple!
It really is this simple!

A work colleague who lived two doors up from where I was lodging once treated me to a cup of tea, an in-depth discussion of our company’s diversity policy and then a full guided tour of his house (from cellar to the converted attic bedroom).

He then asked: “Emma, do you think I should go to the gym?”

Oh boy can I relate to this!

I’ve heard people refer to the obligation of going to the gym as the modern equivalent of going to church on Sundays. (Please note: I mean no offence here).procrastination - retro

The thing is – after every work-out or run – am I now duty-bound to write a blog post?

And which is harder – drumming up the motivation to exercise, or drumming up the motivation to write?

At uni I had real trouble with my essays – just getting them done. I would put it off and put it off until a frantic all-night session before the deadline.

Well do I remember my student daze
Well do I remember my student daze

But getting my running gear on and taking off for a few circuits of the perimeter of my hall of residence was no trouble whatsoever.

Commenting on one of my posts on Facebook, fellow blogger and writer of fiction Misha Herwin said: “I think the drumming up of motivation is the same for whatever you’re doing.

“Partly inertia, partly fear that you won’t be able to achieve whatever it is you’ve set yourself. The trouble is you know you’ll feel much better when you’ve done it, if only you can get yourself going.

As good an excuse as any for showing a guy with a six-pack!
As good an excuse as any for showing a guy with a six-pack!

“And you don’t have the guilt which comes from not doing it.”

I plead guilty to procrastination.

Which leads me to my next confession.

There are no problems with exercise motivation – I have, indeed, just been for my first run since breaking my foot (more to follow!).

No, you need to know this, tomorrow is the deadline for my submission of a detailed, ideas-ridden, high creativity work project.

Back to work it is then LOL

Leave a Reply

